That part was easy. When Alabama coach Nick Saban retired, it was a logical choice to put Georgia’s Kirby Smart at No. 1. Smart has two national championships and has built a program with the long-range success that Saban’s Alabama dynasty had.

After No. 1? The rest of the top 10 features six coaches who made at least one College Football Playoff appearance, including Clemson coach Dabo Swinney, who also has two national championships. North Carolina’s Mack Brown is the only other national championship coach on the list – and he accomplished that with Texas in 2005. Ohio State’s Ryan Day and Alabama’s Kalen DeBoer made CFP championship games.

Three coaches on this list jumped more than 30 spots up, including Washington’s Jedd Fisch (No. 34), South Florida’s Alex Golesh (No. 92) and Texas’ Steve Sarkisian (No. 6) – who vaulted into the top.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *