BREAKING: JJ McCarthy Named Big Ten Quarterback Of The Year

After leading the Wolverines to another perfect 12-0 regular season record on Saturday, Michigan’s JJ McCarthy has been named the Big Ten Quarterback of the Year.

It’s official: JJ McCarthy has been named as the Griese-Brees Big Ten Quarterback of the Year. McCarthy becomes the first Wolverine to win the award since its inception in 2011.

Ten of the previous twelve winners were Buckeye quarterbacks, including the last seven years straight prior to McCarthy earning the title.

McCarthy had a crucial role in leading the Wolverines to their second straight 12-0 regular season record in 2023, which was completed with a victory over the Buckeyes last Saturday for a third straight time.

Right now, the junior quarterback ranks No. 1 in completion %, No. 3 in passing yards, No. 4 in passing touchdowns, and No. 5 in conference completions. McCarthy leads the conference in passing efficiency as well, coming in at 176.8, more than 15 points ahead of Ohio State’s Kyle McCord (161.6).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *