Marvin Harrison Jr. is the 2023 Biletnikoff Award Winner

Becomes just the second-ever winner from Ohio State, joining Terry Glenn in 1995

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State’s Marvin Harrison Jr. took home the nation’s top prize for a collegiate receiver on Friday evening and at the same time cemented his place in Ohio State history.

Harrison Jr. is the winner of this year’s Biletnikoff Award from the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, which honors the nation’s most outstanding receiver at any position. The announcement was made during ESPN’s annual College Football Awards show.

Harrison Jr. is just the second Buckeye ever to win the Biletnikoff Award. He joins Terry Glenn, who earned the honor in 1995. Harrison Jr. is the fifth player from a Big Ten school to win the award and the first in 19 years, since Braylon Edwards of Michigan in 2004.

A national selection committee consisting of over 650 journalists, commentators, broadcasters and former players selects the award winner annually. The award was established in 1994. Harrison Jr. has been a finalist in each of the last two seasons.


The Big Ten’s Offensive Player of the Year and Wide Receiver of the Year, Harrison Jr. can now add Biletnikoff Award winner and Heisman Trophy finalist to his growing list of awards and accolades. He finished the regular season with 67 receptions for 1,211 yards and 14 touchdowns, which is second-most in the country.

Nationally, Harrison Jr. ranks ninth in receiving yards per game (100.9), ninth in total receiving yards (1,211) and third in 100-yard receiving games (eight). He’s caught at least one touchdown pass in 10 games this season, including in each of the last eight contests.

In Ohio State’s record books, Harrison Jr. is third in career touchdown receptions (31), first in 100-yard games (15) and sixth in both career receptions (155) and receiving yards (2,613). He’s the first Ohio State receiver to have consecutive 1,000-yard seasons and is also the first to be a two-time All-American. He’s already been a first-team selection by CBS Sports, USA Today, The Athletic, Pro Football Focus and Sports Illustrated

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *